Filter

2017

March

Mar
28

Exciting new award for RHD students to promote professional skills development. Replaces the GSITA.

Tuesday 28 March 2017 9:30am to 10:30am
Mar
28

Start early to build your skills in thesis document preparation and presentation.

Tuesday 28 March 2017 9:30am to 12:30pm

April

Apr
5

This workshop gives a broad conceptual overview of statistical ideas relating to research design, descriptive statistics and inferential...

Wednesday 5 April 2017 9:30am to 11:30am
Apr
6

If you're PhD candidate with expertise to share, you are eligible to propose new story ideas and potentially write for The Conversation.

Thursday 6 April 2017 12:00pm to 1:00pm
Apr
10

Communicating effectively in the global workplace is a critical skill in the 21st century.

Monday 10 April 2017 10:00am to 12:00pm
Apr
12

This course will introduce you to issues surrounding research integrity, conflict of interest (COI), plagiarism and authorship, copyright issues,...

Wednesday 12 April 2017 1:00pm to 3:00pm
Apr
13

This session answers all questions in relation to including publications in a thesis.

Thursday 13 April 2017 9:30am to 11:30am
Apr
19

Start early to build your skills in thesis document preparation and presentation.

Wednesday 19 April 2017 9:30am to 12:30pm
Apr
20

If you know about the publishing process but are looking to learn more from the experience of others, then this will be an invaluable session....

Thursday 20 April 2017 10:00am to 12:00pm
Apr
20

Networking effectively is a key skill in any workplace context.

Thursday 20 April 2017 1:30pm to 3:30pm
Apr
21

Start early to build your skills in thesis document preparation and presentation.

Friday 21 April 2017 9:30am to 12:30pm
Apr
24

Placement delivering a real research-based contribution to a not-for-profit organisation.

Monday 24 April 2017 (All day)
Apr
24

Funded participation in selected Industry Experience Career Development Activities

Monday 24 April 2017 11:30pm
Apr
24

Placement with a proven provider, with strong supervision and guidance, flexible participation and clear outcomes

Monday 24 April 2017 11:30pm
Apr
26

This session provides candidates with an overview of the 3MT Competition, including competition rules and judging criteria, progression through...

Wednesday 26 April 2017 1:30pm to 2:30pm
Apr
27

Start early to build your skills in thesis document preparation and presentation.

Thursday 27 April 2017 9:30am to 12:30pm

May

May
3

A hands-on workshop taking RHD candidates through the online thesis submission and lodgement process, as well as the thesis examinations process.

Wednesday 3 May 2017 10:00am to 11:00am
May
8

This compulsory session is designed to get you successfully started with your RHD.

Monday 8 May 2017 1:30pm to 4:30pm
May
24

This workshop outlines a process to use when reading for and writing your lit review. It focuses on critical reading and examines the unique...

Wednesday 24 May 2017 10:00am to 11:30am
May
29

The program will give you the tools, guidance and confidence to take charge of your career direction, determine your own priorities and accelerate...

Monday 29 May 2017 9:00am

June

Jun
1

This session will provide participants with an opportunity to explore their skills and identify areas of development.

Thursday 1 June 2017 10:00am to 12:00pm
Jun
1

This practical session will provide participants with understanding of resume preparation and responding to selection criteria.

Thursday 1 June 2017 1:00pm to 3:00pm
Jun
5

Presenting your research is an important skill for any researcher and it is a skill that is transferrable to the workplace after completion of a...

Monday 5 June 2017 10:30pm to 11:30pm
Jun
6

This workshop outlines the key purposes and characteristics of a confirmation document.

Tuesday 6 June 2017 9:30am to 11:00am
Jun
8

This workshop introduces proofreading and editing strategies and resources that aim to promote clear, concise and cohesive research writing. There...

Thursday 8 June 2017 11:00am to 1:00pm
Jun
14

This introductory workshop examines some strategies which should help you to make clear connections between ideas in sections, paragraphs and...

Wednesday 14 June 2017 2:30pm to 4:00pm
Jun
22

Tables and figures play a key role in highlighting the findings of many types of research but are often presented and incorporated much less...

Thursday 22 June 2017 2:00pm to 3:00pm

July

Jul
4

If you ever feel like an imposter, then there is good news for you!

Tuesday 4 July 2017 1:00pm to 4:00pm
Jul
6

Is the finishing line in sight? Learn some strategies to manage the time between thesis submission and your RHD conferral.

Thursday 6 July 2017 10:00am to 12:00pm
Jul
6

Your IQ is high. But what about your EQ? The ability to understand ourselves and others is central to career and personal success. It is known as...

Thursday 6 July 2017 1:00pm to 4:00pm
Jul
12

This interactive seminar will help you to develop a career strategy that aligns with your values and will show you how to enhance your career options...

Wednesday 12 July 2017 11:00am to 1:00pm
Jul
20

Intellectual Property can be a valuable asset and understanding how to protect it will help you in your research career. Learn why you should use it...

Thursday 20 July 2017 9:30am to 11:30am
Jul
25

Transform your research into global impact.

Tuesday 25 July 2017 (All day) to Wednesday 26 July 2017 (All day)

August

Aug
15

Managing your time is an essential skill for study, work and life in general.

Tuesday 15 August 2017 2:30pm to 3:30pm
Aug
23

The ability to communicate clearly and with influence is a core skill for any researcher. This workshop will help you develop presentations skills...

Wednesday 23 August 2017 10:00am to 1:00pm
Aug
24

For those who know publishing processes but are looking to extend their knowledge.

Thursday 24 August 2017 10:00am to 12:00pm
Aug
30

This course will provide participants with practical strategies to their personal and research 'brand'.

Wednesday 30 August 2017 10:00am to 12:00pm

September

Sep
6

Its important to make sure this critical relationship works well. How can you do that?

Wednesday 6 September 2017 10:00am to 11:30am
Sep
20

This workshop focuses on how to concept map effectively and explores ways in which concept mapping can be used to help you plan and write your...

Wednesday 20 September 2017 10:00am to 11:30am
Sep
25

Communicating effectively in the global workplace is a critical skill in the 21st century.

Monday 25 September 2017 2:30pm to 4:30pm
Sep
26

This course will help you to increase your effectiveness and outcomes in key areas, including dealing with your supervisor, structuring your time and...

Tuesday 26 September 2017 9:30am to 12:00pm
Sep
26

This seminar is "...exceptional value. I left feeling excited about my writing. Thank you".

Tuesday 26 September 2017 1:30pm to 4:00pm

October

Oct
5

This workshop gives a broad conceptual overview of statistical ideas relating to research design, descriptive statistics and inferential...

Thursday 5 October 2017 9:30am to 11:30am
Oct
9

This workshop introduces proofreading and editing strategies and resources that aim to promote clear, concise and cohesive research writing. There...

Monday 9 October 2017 9:30am to 11:30am
Oct
17

Boost your productivity and reduce stress and anxiety by learning to stay focused and overcome distractions.

Tuesday 17 October 2017 10:00am to 12:00pm
Oct
26

Researchers, including RHD students, should be wary of approaches by email or letter from unfamiliar publishers, asking for books, articles or...

Thursday 26 October 2017 10:00am to 12:00pm

November

Nov
1

An academic career tends to be the preferred choice for PhD graduates but what academic career paths are there and how do you navigate them?

Wednesday 1 November 2017 10:00am to 12:00pm
Nov
21

This workshop outlines a process to use when reading for and writing your lit review. It focuses on critical reading and examines the unique...

Tuesday 21 November 2017 11:00am to 12:30pm
Nov
23

A must-do for all research students: keep up to date with ethics in publishing.

Thursday 23 November 2017 10:00am to 12:00pm
Nov
28

This workshop outlines the key purposes and characteristics of a confirmation document.

Tuesday 28 November 2017 2:00pm to 3:30pm

December

Dec
6

This introductory workshop examines some strategies which should help you to make clear connections between ideas in sections, paragraphs and...

Wednesday 6 December 2017 2:30pm to 4:00pm